The Pool: That awkward moment

So I figured I’d try my hand at making more time for physical enjoyment. Fort McMurray has an awesome all inclusive multiplex facility with pools, gyms, indoor swimming areas, rock climbing you name it. My month is almost up and I have only used it three times.

Time is a factor. I never have enough of it. If I stopped listening and shut off the world entirely I might have an hour every second day to honour my body with some movement. I made some time the other day to try to ensure that my child learns better routines and hopefully does not have the same challenges someday. She really wanted to swim. What kid wouldn’t seeing that place? She had been to the complex twice already. Slides, wave pool splash pad and play place. I have to admit, I just was not feeling the parading around the pool half naked. I just was not feeling motivated into getting into my swim wear. I saw lots of others wearing clothes, so I figured I too could walk around the pool with her as she galloped through the place.

Everything was going fine. And then some girl in a Zumba fit ensemble comes over and informs me I need to go get a bathing suit on or my kid has to get out of the water. She was totally kicking us out. My daughter can swim. She has been swimming for years and recently at the end of the out door swim season, I allowed her to break free of the life jacket, a proud moment to say the least, for us both, when she passed her swimming tests. I am not about to drop her off at the pool and go have a work out. I am poolside. I am ready and willing to jump in if need be. I can’t believe this. I look on to the parents with kids in lessons, fully dressed and sigh. I spot about 8 or more paid and trained lifeguards, they are all in shorts and a tank tops or t-shirts, I kinda get annoyed with the woman. She maintains her stance, I need to get out or get swim wear on. I am in disbelief.

Seriously, what if I didn’t shave and couldn’t face the humility of my lack of maintenance. What if I had stretch marks and just don’t want to disrobe in public, what if I have bruises or scars of injuries I just don’t want to show. What if for religious reasons I could not disrobe. For the record, I was wearing flips flops black tights and a tunic. Also at no point had any employee at the complex ever told me I had to be in swim wear to accompany my child into the pool area. No one was about to even ask me if I’d be happy to jump in wearing whatever I had on for my child’s safety sake. Bathing suit or HWY. The lady repeated her position. I’m a ball of anxiety at this point.

I am like lady please – I’m not taking her out of her glory because you think I need to be naked and I don’t feel like having my naked body made public today. She was firm. Out of the clothes or out of the pool.

I tell my child to pay attention to what the lady is saying. I tell the lady to repeat to the kid what she is saying to me in a way that she understands what is happening. I was 100% convinced child would not believe me if I told her such a tale. The Zumba fit outfitted lady had to explain to the 6 year old what was happening. She could not. That’s how we know that it does not make sense. When it can’t be boilded down for the wee ones. The kid looks at the Zumba outfitted lady like she has 25 heads.

What? Mommy did not bring a swim suit so I have to get out of the pool? I have a swim suit. Do I have to get out too? The woman shows zero empathy. She never even says let this be a warning about the rules. I am sorry you were not informed. Safety. I get it. I was with her. I was right there and watching her closely and within a few feet of her pool side. She can swim. I thought it was okay because so many other people where there in clothing. But the fact that those were not the rules for us, and that I was wearing my clothes just really sucked on that particular day.

I just did not want to be half naked. I honestly have no major body issues. I have no awfulness to cover up and I might have even been somewhat shaved that day. I just did not feel like getting wet and full of chemicals and being on display in my swim wear. I wanted my kid to have fun and exercise and I saw a lot of other people in the area fully clothed so I assumed it was fine. I made a mistake, but did the employee honestly have to single us out and kick 2 out of 100 people out. Bad timing to make an example of your authority.

What really grinds my gears about this whole fiasco is that in this modern era I still live in a world where a woman tells another woman to strip down or get out. I am not a feminist, not any wave genre of feminist. But I’d be a total idiot to not be aware of the issues against women from multiple perspectives. I’ll save my political positioning for another post entirely. Lesson learned for me. No matter how modern, females still are going to be hating on other females. From now on, I am only frequenting the pool only with a spare pair of clothing. And if I see that woman again, I might just take a rip of the high dive if only just to say bitch please, I do not need a swim suit to get the f in the pool if need be.

I get the rules! Arm’s length. Let’s prevent drowning, yadda yadda. But why inflict this all on us this day, without even asking me to get my clothes wet.

When I was a kid my mother tossed me in the deep end not being in the pool age 7 or something without a swiming lesson to my name and said figure it out. Ya know what, I did.

I have been keeping my head above water ever since.

About lovelytellyourmother

CEO of A-Team Inc. Smart. Brave. Kind.

Posted on October 16, 2012, in Political and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

